Find comfort in it…

Perseverance In Building The Life You Want

Entrepreneurship is such a cool thing. We have the option to own our own products AND make money from them. Not only make money for ourselves but work for ourselves. We are bred from a young age to learn a little bit about everything and pick a company to work for to earn money. We aren’t taught to find what we love, and become great at it to make a living, but to find something we can do and find a way to make a living to support a family blah blah blah.

Ultimately, it is up to us though to make the choice of what we want to do. They don’t prepare us too well for real life but come to think about it, we learn just enough to learn how to make our own decisions. I guess what is really wrong with the school system isn’t what they teach but how they teach it. We grow up thinking our grades are our value. Many entrepreneurs perform just decently in school or just get by. Learning yourself and your interests seems much more important to me because I notice a lot of people are just lost. They don’t spend their time doing what they love, or they don’t think for themselves. This might be the first step of someone becoming an entrepreneur. Anyone stubborn enough to say no to the entire system we are raised to be on has to have a mind of their own right? It’s a pretty crazy idea.

All entrepreneurs have different goals, different schedules, different lives. It’s interesting how entrepreneurship became a “popular” thing on social media when people have been doing it literally forever. It actually was the FIRST thing somebody ever did regarding work. Every business ever was started by an entrepreneur! Everyone was encouraged to find something to do or it wouldn’t work out for you (it being life). People now want to find jobs that pay a lot and they do very little. I’m guilty of this but also know I am not a great fit for most companies. I’ve always wanted my own thing and my main issue with jobs is that they limit me to doing so little. I want to do new things, learn new skills, manage my time at least a little bit on my own schedule but jobs don’t like that. They actually hate it so much that they cut me off like a bad friend. Who do I think I am to be trying to live my life on my own terms on their time?

I gave up on getting a corporate type job while I was in college the first time, and told myself I’d be fine because I was going to make it in music (didn’t work yet) so I went back to college again to study entrepreneurship. I think some people are born with the natural gift of making money. I humbly don’t think I’m one of those people. I do know though that once I like something, it’s all I want to do. I became obsessed with making music, writing music, and now creating content surrounding my music. I haven’t found a way to make money with it but I guess now I could say I’m obsessed with building this foundation and world around my ideas. All I want is for people to listen but that’s hard. It was just Thanksgiving and it was the first time I took 2 or 3 days off from doing any kind of work for months. I didn’t like it. I like working. My family members were saying I should slow down and my mom always tells me I should “enjoy my time off”. When I’m at home and try to take a break and relax I get bored and start editing or something that has to do with work. I think that truly means I’ve found what I love doing. It surprises me how often people don’t seem to have found that thing for themselves. From the outside looking in it seems that way but maybe they have and maybe it doesn’t have to do with work. I literally can’t fathom it but maybe it’s not for me to understand. I think everyone has a gift of some sort and should work at it or do it with all their will. Why would you not? How is it more fun to sit around and watch TV or talk or something? Create the life you want, moral of the story.

Leave a comment